top of page

Hope...


I returned from my hostel to my hometown and was very excited to meet my loved ones after a long time but life has its intricacy. Despite taking full precautions I was not the only one to come back home as Covid accompanied me. At last, I was in my home but it kept me far away from my family. My father and my sister were also tested positive and concern was the only thing in the atmosphere of my house.

The next morning, I woke up to a picture in the newspaper which kept me hooked. Visuals of a woman desperately trying to revive her husband’s breathing through mouth-to-mouth cardiopulmonary resuscitation inside an auto-rickshaw outside a hospital in Agra, it did change my approach towards life during this pandemic. It made me realize how grief is uniting us all at the moment. With every breath, there was an intake of unknown fear inside me. While I was quarantining leisurely at home there were thousands of people on street, unrecognized, dying for breath. The basic need of a human being, ‘Oxygen’ is now being bought and sold at a heavy expense of statistics of loss of lives. We are not only fighting the pandemic but also an inadequate system of handling it. While the government is showing ignorance and India is finding itself in dire straits as the COVID-19 pandemic wreaks havoc across the nation, we see common people as a rising force stepping up to help each other.

We are seeing instances such as an auto-taxi ride-hailing app Tukxi has come forward to join hands with the Kochi Corporation to deliver essential kits and food parcels to the needy. When the triple lockdown was announced, a few auto drivers voluntarily came forward to deliver essential kits. Arjun Gowda is a popular Kannada actor who has decided to become an ambulance driver due to the shortage. He started the ‘Project Smile Trust’ to provide medical help and resources to the COVID-19 affected patients. The trust even helps the victims with the final rites of the people who have died due to the virus. The virus is mocking all of us without considering any societal divide. Even though it is through grief but we now understand how important it is to be kind. Isolation made us all introspect and even though the world is dominated by technology, we must remain humble and respect humanity.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page